UMass releases 2014 football schedule

Maria Uminski/Daily Collegian

Maria Uminski/Daily Collegian

Just one day after releasing its spring practice schedule, the Massachusetts football team unveiled its 2014 regular season slate on Friday afternoon.

The Minutemen’s 12-game schedule includes non-conference matchups with major conference schools Penn State, Boston College, Vanderbilt and Colorado to go with its regular Mid-American Conference games. UMass opens the season Aug. 30 against the Eagles at Gillette Stadium, and makes its highly anticipated return to McGuirk Stadium Sept. 27 for a game against Bowling Green The other two games at McGuirk are against Ball State Nov. 12 and Buffalo Nov. 28. UMass also plays three weekday games, including a Wednesday night (Nov. 12 vs. Ball State) and Tuesday night (Nov. 18 at Akron) matchup.

The Minutemen enter their third season in the Football Bowl Subdivision and MAC in 2014, and its first under coach Mark Whipple after being led to consecutive 1-11 campaigns under Charley Molnar.

2014 Schedule

  • Wednesday, April 16: UMass Spring Game (McGuirk Stadium, TBD)
  • Saturday, Aug. 30: vs. Boston College (Gillette Stadium, TBD)
  • Saturday, Sept. 6: vs. Colordada (Gillette Stadium, TBD)
  • Saturday, Sept. 13: at Vanderbilt (Vanderbilt Stadium, TBD)
  • Saturday, Sept. 20: at Penn State (Beaver Stadium, TBD)
  • Saturday, Sept. 27: vs. Bowling Green (McGuirk Stadium, TBD)
  • Saturday, Oct. 4: at Miami (Ohio) (Yager Stadium, TBD)
  • Saturday, Oct. 11: at Kent State (Dix Stadium, TBD)
  • Saturday, Oct. 18: vs. Eastern Michigan (Gillette Stadium, TBD)
  • Saturday, Oct. 25: at Toledo (Glass Bowl, TBD)
  • Wednesday, Nov. 12: vs Ball State (McGuirk Stadium, TBD)
  • Tuesday, Nov. 18: at Akron (InfoCision Stadium–Summa Field, TBD)
  • Saturday, Nov. 22: at Central Michigan (Kelly/Shorts Stadium, TBD)
  • Friday, Nov. 28: vs. Buffalo (McGuirk Stadium, TBD)

Nick Canelas can be reached at ncanelas@umass.edu and followed on Twitter @NickCanelas.

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s